Archive for December 8th, 2008

Sunday Night Open Mic: it ain’t where you’re from

December 8, 2008

I’d been planning on writing a post to commemorate the 75th anniversary of Repeal Day. It’s a day worthy of celebration for anyone who works with alcohol and reminds me that bartenders have an obligation to dispense spirits, liqueurs and wines responsibly. The problem is that I don’t have a lot to add – US Prohibition carries more weight over here in symbolic terms rather than practical ones. My first thought had been to write about the legacy of Prohibition in terms of its effect on the culture of bartending and alcohol consumption, but Camper English wrote a great post at Alcademics.com that hit the topic right out of the ballpark. My second thought was, “it’s 3am on Saturday morning, I’ve got a 12 hour shift starting in 8 eight hours and I haven’t slept or eaten since Thursday.” Read the rest of this entry »

