Havana laugh

October 28, 2008
Bacardi Havana Club

Apparently, Bacardi's Havana Club is aimed at America's Hispanic population. Unlucky.

I’m a bartender, therefore I like rum, which leads me to say all kinds of nice things about the roundup of the Havana Club range at A Mountain of Crushed Ice. Tiare’s post touches on Bacardi’s version of Havana Club, which is only available in the USA, which reminds me of two things.

The first is spending literally an entire day in Manhattan’s liquor stores trying to find a bottle to (very illegally) bring back to Scotland. The second, courtesy of the guys at Bramble, is trying it.

It’s absolutely horrendous. Maybe it’s me. Maybe I’ve been spoiled by Britain’s rich rum heritage. Maybe I’m comparing it with things it should never be measured against, like an aged Jamaican or Guatemalan rum, or even Bacardi’s own 8 year old. Maybe I’ve become a rum snob.

And if it is me? It still tastes like someone made a vodka flavoured with burnt caramel. From meths.

Pretty bottle, though.

4 Responses to “Havana laugh”

  1. Tiare Says:

    Interesting to hear the taste of this “HC rum” , i was really wondering..

    I knew it couldnt possibly taste as good as the real HC does.

    Nice blog!

    Cheers

    Ti

  2. Jon Says:

    Thanks!

    Bacardi make some great products, but their Havana Club definitely isn’t one of them.

    J

  3. helen Says:

    what would be illegal about bringing back a bottle of spirits you had legitimately bought in the US? Provided you didn’t breach your duty limit you wouldn’t even need to declare it. Or does it come in REALLY HUGE duty-free limit breaching bottles?

  4. Jon Says:

    Just couldn’t fit the whole barrel in my carry-on…

    I’m not 100% sure of the legal aspect. I’m pretty certain that it’s not available for export outside of US territories, but maybe personal use is a different thing.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

